Toledo Edison IBEW Members Honored for Excellence by National Union

Toledo Edison Only Second Utility in U.S. to Earn This Recognition
Toledo Edison

TOLEDO, Ohio, Aug. 11, 2016 -- On August 11, Toledo Edison, a subsidiary of FirstEnergy Corp. (NYSE: FE) will celebrate the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) "Code of Excellence" designation for its partnership with IBEW Local 245, which represents more than 400 FirstEnergy employees in northwestern Ohio.  A ceremony attended by FirstEnergy and IBEW leaders will be held to mark the occasion.

The "Code of Excellence" is a designation that indicates an ongoing commitment to quality workmanship, high standards of productivity and an ongoing focus on safety.

IBEW Local 245 members are employed by Toledo Edison, a FirstEnergy utility that serves more than 300,000 customers in eight northwest Ohio counties; FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company, which operates the Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station in Oak Harbor, Ohio; and FirstEnergy Generating Company, which operates the Bay Shore Power Plant in Oregon, Ohio.

Toledo Edison is only the second utility in the United States to recognize this designation for the partnership between the union and the company.  Steven E. Strah, senior vice president of FirstEnergy and president of FirstEnergy Utilities, and Lonnie Stephenson, international president of IBEW, will officiate the ceremony that will take place at Toledo Edison's service center in Holland, Ohio.  It will include the unveiling of an IBEW "Code of Excellence" insignia on a Toledo Edison bucket truck.  The insignia will be affixed to all Toledo Edison trucks.

"IBEW Local 245 members have a well-earned reputation for hard work and a focus on safe operations, two key attributes that led to the 'Code of Excellence' designation," said Strah. "As an organization we take great pride in the productive relationships we have developed with our union employees, which helps us provide reliable electric service to our customers."

"The electric work done by IBEW members leaves no margin for error, which is why our 'Code of Excellence' is the highest designation we can bestow on one of our locals," said Stephenson.  "By embracing excellence in everything they do, IBEW Local 245 members have set a high standard and I am proud to recognize the work they do on behalf of their company and their customers."

Other FirstEnergy senior management attending the ceremony include Mark Julian, vice president, Utility Operations; Charles P. Cookson, executive director of Labor Relations; and David A. Poska, director of Operations Services for Toledo Edison.  Other key IBEW members attending the event include Jim Hunter, director of Utilities for IBEW; Ken Cooper, IBEW 4th District vice president; Larry Tscherne, business and financial manager, IBEW Local 245; Ken Erdmann, assistant business manager, IBEW Local 245; Phil LaCourse, assistant business manager, IBEW Local 245; and Ray Zychowicz, president, IBEW Local 245.

FirstEnergy is dedicated to safety, reliability and operational excellence.  Its 10 electric distribution companies form one of the nation's largest investor-owned electric systems, serving customers in Ohio, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, West Virginia, Maryland and New York.  The company's transmission subsidiaries operate more than 24,000 miles of transmission lines that connect the Midwest and Mid-Atlantic regions, while its generation subsidiaries control nearly 17,000 megawatts of capacity from a diversified mix of scrubbed coal, non-emitting nuclear, natural gas, hydro and other renewables.  Follow FirstEnergy on Twitter @FirstEnergyCorp or online at

CONTACT: Chris Eck, (330) 384-7939

Last Modified: July 19, 2017